

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Dr. Martha P. Haynes, Golden Smith Professor of Astronomy at Cornell University, to receive the 2019 Bruce Gold Medal

The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) is proud to announce the 2019 recipient of its most prestigious award, the Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal honoring **Dr. Martha P. Haynes**, in recognition as an international leader and pioneer of radio studies of galaxies.

SAN FRANCISCO, California – July 23, 2019 Dr. Haynes has made major contributions to our understanding of the composition, interactions, distribution, and evolution of galaxies in the universe throughout an impressive research career spanning over 40 years. Haynes is an internationally recognized leader and pioneer in radio studies of galaxies, specifically observations of the 21 cm wavelength of neutral hydrogen (HI).

Haynes has also been a leader and advocate for the development of state-of-the-art instruments to expand our ability to probe the radio universe. She provided oversight and vision to the improvements made to the Arecibo Radio Telescope in Puerto Rico, culminating with the ALFALFA HI Survey, which covered 1/6th of the sky and detected an astonishing 31,000 galaxies. Haynes and her students and colleagues have also studied large clumps and clusters of galaxies at immense scales of up to hundreds of megaparsecs. As one of her nominators stated, Haynes has "completely altered our view of the scale of inhomogeneities in the Universe, which is now recognized as a fundamental tenet of cosmology." As Chair of its Board of Directors, Haynes currently spearheads the Cerro Chajnantor Atacama Telescope (CCAT) initiative to construct the high-altitude, CCAT-prime submillimeter radio telescope in northern Chile that will peer into the early universe to investigate galaxy and star formation. She is also the scientific lead of the ALFALFA Undergraduate Team which promotes collaborative research by faculty and students at 23 academic institutions, most serving mainly undergraduates, from across the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

Haynes has authored over 272 refereed publications with over 16,000 citations, including 41 refereed publications with more than 100 citations each. Haynes has been awarded the Henry Draper Medal by the National Academy of Sciences (1989), elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1999) and National Academy of Sciences (2000), became a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2000), and has been appointed as a distinguished lecturer at a number of institutions, including Princeton University and the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.

Join us in celebration of Dr. Hayne's achievements at the ASP Awards Gala (Ceremony and Banquet) on November 9, 2019 in Burlingame, CA.



The Astronomical Society of the Pacific's **Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal** was established in 1898 by Catherine Wolfe Bruce, an American philanthropist and patroness of astronomy. The ASP presents the medal annually to a professional astronomer in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding achievement and contributions to astrophysics research. It was first awarded in 1898 to Simon Newcomb. Previous recipients of the Bruce Medal include Giovanni V. Schiaparelli (1902) Edwin Hubble (1938), Fred Hoyle (1970), and Vera Rubin (2003).

About the ASP

The Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP), established in 1889, is a 501c3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to use astronomy to increase the understanding and appreciation of science and to advance science and science literacy. The ASP connects scientists, educators, amateur astronomers and the public together to learn about astronomical research, improve astronomy education, and share resources that engage learners of all kinds in the excitement and adventure of scientific discovery. Current ASP programs and initiatives support college faculty, K-12 science teachers, amateur astronomy clubs, science museums, libraries, park rangers, and girl scouts to name a few.

Through its annual awards, ASP recognizes achievement in research, technology, education, and public outreach. The awards include the ASP's highest honor, the Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal awarded since 1898 for a lifetime of outstanding research in astronomy. The Bruce Medal has gone to some of the greatest astronomers of the past century, including Arthur Eddington, Edwin P. Hubble, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, and Vera Rubin. The ASP also presents the Klumpke-Roberts Award for outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy. Awardees include Carl Sagan, Isaac Asimov, and the Hubble Heritage Project.

More information about the ASP's awards and past recipients can be found at www.astrosociety.org/awards

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram at astrosocietypac and on Facebook.

Contact: Linda Shore Chief Executive Officer Astronomical Society of the Pacific 390 Ashton Avenue San Francisco, CA 94112 www.astrosociety.org

E-mail: Ishore@astrosociety.org