Skip to main content

Advisory Council

Board of Directors

Appointed by the Board of Directors, the Advisory Council provides feedback and advice to the Board and staff on strategic questions and issues affecting the Society. It is composed of former ASP board members, leaders in the astronomy research, education, and amateur communities, and other friends of the ASP. Members are asked to serve for a term of three years, and may be reappointed.

Current Membership as of April 2024

Bruce Carney
Provost emeritus, Distinguished Professor emeritus
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Edna DeVore
SETI institute (retired)

Lynn D. Dierking
Oregon State University and Institute for Learning Innovation

Timothy Ferris
University of California, Berkeley

Richard Fienberg
American Astronomical Society

Alex Filippenko
Department of Astronomy, University of California, Berkeley

Andrew Fraknoi
Astronomy Department, Foothill College (retired)

Catharine D. Garmany
National Optical Astronomy Observatory

Marc Gineris
Incyte Capital Holdings, Dallas, TX

Mary Kay Hemenway
Research Fellow, University of Texas at Austin (retired)

Jim Hesser
Emeritus Director, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory and Strategic Advisor, Herzberg Astronomy and Astrophysics Programs, National Research Council of Canada

Catherine Langridge
Presidio Trust

Schyleen Qualls
Arkeon Entertainment & Arkeon Education

Ron Rosano
Astronomy Educator, Virgin Galactic Spaceflight Participant

Jeffrey Rosendhal
NASA (retired); Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) at George Mason University

Wayne Rosing
Las Cumbres Observatory

Dennis Schatz
Senior Adviser, Pacific Science Center

Constance Walker
National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Laboratory
Former ASP Board President

Al Whaley
Co-Founder, Internet Travel Network (retired)