Skip to main content


ASP Annual Awards

Nominations for the 2020 ASP Awards are now closed as of March 1.

Visit our 2020 Nominations webpage for information on all of the awards and links to the nominations as well as nomination guidelines and previous awardees.

If you submitted a nomination or letter of support, you can access your online account at anytime.

Questions? Please contact us at any time.

About the ASP Awards

Dr. Martha P. Haynes
2019 Bruce Gold Medal Recipient

The ASP recognizes individual achievements in astronomy research, technology, education, and public outreach each year. Recipients of our awards have included luminaries such as Edwin Hubble, Vera Rubin, Isaac Asimov, Margaret Burbidge, Carl Sagan, and most recently, Katherine Johnson.

Our most prestigious award, the Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal, was established in 1889 by Catherine Wolfe Bruce, an American philanthropist and patroness of astronomy. The Bruce has been awarded annually by the ASP to a professional astronomer in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding achievement and contributions to astrophysics research and is one of the most important awards in the field.

Nominations are accepted through March 1 of each year. Please note the new nomination and distribution schedule on each individual Awards page. Most of the awards are open for nominations from the public unless specified. Announcements are made early Summer of each year.

2019 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Medal Awardee

2019 Arthur B.C. Walker II Awardee

ASP Annual Awards Gala

Each year the ASP holds an Awards Gala in honor of and to recognize the ASP Awards Recipients for their leadership in and advancement of astronomy and space science.

Save the date! The 2020 ASP Awards Gala is Saturday, November 8 in Burlingame, California at the DoubleTree Hilton Hotel.

Visit our Photo Gallery of the 2019 ASP Awards Gala held November 9th, 2019 in Burlingame, CA.

Sign up to be notified when tickets are available to purchase for the 2020 Awards Gala.