Skip to main content

Current Board

Board of Directors

Edna DeVore

Edna DeVore
SETI Institute (retired)

Edna DeVore is an astronomy educator. Formerly, she was the Acting CEO and the Director of Education and Public Outreach at the SETI Institute, a non-profit scientific research organization with a strong commitment to education and public outreach. Her most recent project was “Reaching for the Stars: NASA Science for Girl Scouts,” which developed badges for all Girl Scout levels, trained leaders, hosts summer camps and solar eclipse events.  She created and led education projects for NASA’s Kepler Mission, Astrobiology Institute, Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy and Kuiper Airborne Observatory.  She was co-investigator for NASA & NSF Research Experience for Undergraduates in Astrobiology and for “Voyages Through Time: An Integrated High School Science Curriculum on the theme of evolution published. Edna served on the Board of Directors for the ASP 2007-2013. She was a member of the Astronomy Education Board of the American Astronomical Society, the Education Board for the Foundation for Microbiology, the NASA Advisory Committee: Subcommittee on Astrophysics, and several advisory boards for NASA and NSF education and outreach projects. After 25 years, she retired from SETI Institute in 2018.

Prior to joining the SETI Institute, Edna taught astronomy and directed planetarium programming for grades K-14 and the public for 20 years.  Her honors include Distinguished Alumna from University of the Pacific, Silicon Valley Business Journal’s Women of Influence, Women in Aerospace’s Public Awareness Award, NASA ARC Contract Employee Award, US DOE Christa McAullife Teaching Fellow, Outstanding Student Researcher at the School of Education, San Jose State University, and the California State University Student Research Competition, ASTC Honor Roll of Teachers, and Fellow of the International Planetarium Society. Edna has been a long-time member of several professional organizations including the ASP. Currently, she serves as the Secretary to the ASP Board of Directors.