Skip to main content

Awards Gala

2019 ASP Annual Awards Gala

The 2019 ASP Annual Award Gala celebrating all of the award recipients, will be held on Saturday November 9, 2019 in Burlingame, CA.

Read below for full details of this ticketed event

Each year the ASP honors and recognizes the ASP Awards Recipients for their leadership in and advancement of astronomy and space science. This year we are presenting the prestigious Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal (awarded since 1898) for lifetime achievement in astronomy research to Dr. Martha P. Haynes who has made major contributions to our understanding of the composition, interactions, distribution, and evolution of galaxies in the universe throughout an impressive research career spanning over 40 years. 

The ceremony also features presentations of six additional awards, including the revered Arthur B.C. Walker II Award, presented to Dr. William M. Jackson, Jr., a renowned astrochemist who has studied the chemistry of comets, and in particular, how the free radicals observed in comets are formed and has worked tirelessly to diversify STEM fields throughout his career. 

  • Date: Saturday, November 9, 2019
  • Time: 5:30 Reception. 6:30 Banquet and Awards presentation.
  • Location: DoubleTree/Hilton - 835 Airport Blvd, Burlingame, CA
  • Directions: links to the DoubleTree Hilton website

Visit our Awards page for a complete listing of the 2019 Awardees and additional information about each Award.

Please note: Tickets are no longer available for this event.