Skip to main content

@the ASP

Events

Free Live Webinar: Real People, Big Astronomy: Meet Marco Bonati of Cerro Tololo-Interamerican and SOAR Observatories

Thursday April 15 - 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 4pm Chile
Zoom or Facebook Live Webinar
Free Live Webinar: Real People, Big Astronomy: Meet Marco Bonati of Cerro Tololo-Interamerican and SOAR Observatories

Real People, Big Astronomy: Marco Bonati

April 15

4 PM Chile & EDT / 3 PM CDT / 1 PM PDT

Marco Bonati is an Electronics Detector Engineer who works on instrumentation at Cerro Tololo-Interamerican and SOAR Observatories. He is responsible for keeping the detectors and data acquisition operating well on several instruments, including the Dark Energy Camera. In this live event, we will learn about Marco’s job, and a little about his life outside of astronomy.

Big Astronomy is a multifaceted research and outreach project supported by several partners, such as the ASP, and funded by the National Science Foundation. It includes the award-winning planetarium show Big Astronomy: People, Places, Discoveries which highlights the diverse people who enable discoveries at world-class observatories in Chile. Big Astronomy also hosts live educational events online and offers a variety of hands-on activities now adapted for remote learning.

Close