Skip to main content

Event Calendar

Events

Live Webinar: Real People, Big Astronomy: Peter Moore

Feb 26 10am PT/1pm ET/3pm Chile
Join the team
Live Webinar: Real People, Big Astronomy: Peter Moore

Join guest speaker Peter Moore for a FREE live event on Real People, Big Astronomy.

Peter Moore is an electronics engineer who specializes in visible and infrared detectors used with astronomical instrumentation. He currently works at AURA / NOIRLab and has helped create the detector system used on the Dark Energy Camera. His work is multi-disciplinary in scope ranging from cryogenics, electronics, software, and physics . In this Facebook Live event / Zoom Webinar we will learn about his job, his background, and a little of his life outside astronomy

About Big Astronomy:

It takes many people with diverse backgrounds, talents, and skills to run a world-class observatory. Meet a few of these people as they share the wonder of the sky—and the excitement of discovery. Explore the world-class observatories nestled in northern Chile’s mountains and learn why Chile, with its beautiful mountain ranges and clear, cloudless skies create an ideal environment for studying the cosmos. Continue discovering! Participate in live conversations with observatory staff, explore exclusive behind-the-scenes footage, educational activities, and ongoing science experiments all at bigastronomy.org

Close