Skip to main content


Nomination guidelines

Nomination guidelines for the Gordon Myers Amateur Achievement Award


The newly named Gordon Myers Amateur Achievement Award of the ASP, given yearly since 1979, is designed to recognize significant contributions to astronomy or amateur astronomy by those not employed in the field of astronomy in a professional capacity.


Nominees must have made significant contributions to astronomy as indicated above but are not employed as professional astronomers. Nominations may be made by anyone except the nominee or someone from the nominee’s family.

Nomination Requirements

Nominations are welcome from members of the amateur astronomical community.

Submissions must include:

  • Resume or CV of the nominee (Optional but highly recommended)
  • Nominator letter of no more than two pages explaining in detail the specific contributions and achievements of the nominee that merit the Award.
  • Two independent letters of support (also no more than two pages each) for each nomination.

Due Date

For a new nomination to be considered in any particular year, all nomination documents must be received by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific by March 15* that year. Exceptions will be noted that year.

*Beginning in 2023, the new submission deadline for all ASP Awards is March 15.


All nominations are reviewed by the Awards Committee appointed by the Board of Directors of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific. The Awards Committee recommends a recipient of the Award to the Board of Directors, which then makes the final selection. The Award recipient will be notified in the summer of the award year. If, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, none of the nominees is sufficiently outstanding, or if there are an insufficient number of nominations, the Award will not be given for the year in question.

The Award

The Award includes a $500 cash award, an award plaque, and travel expenses to attend the ASP Awards Gala.

Contact the Awards team if you have any questions or need more information.

Nominations closed March 15